From the archives: another winter solstice poem

new books arrived in the laundry room
(I do laundry more often since I retired):

German novels, African American history,
Native American languages, British plays.
I thumb through all the new additions,

while the whites wash and the colors dry.
An eclectic collection, well kept (I can tell) and
carefully perused by a conscientious reader,

perhaps a former tenant, now departed, her books
abandoned, left behind to testify
on her (or his) behalf. And launderers

like me now benefit from such largesse.
I thumb through them all,
and wonder will my volumes end up here.

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer.

Leave a Reply

