beat week poetry

For Jay Wright

I took four old poems
and pressed them together
and called it an epic –

my epic – in four parts,
my blues-song, my symphony –
each one a separate rhythm,
each a part of a long-winded story.

But then I read some poems
already written – and wondered:
why do we need to create,

to-re-create new songs for old blues?
And I wonder how many of these
old dudes are still around? Still?

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer.

2 thoughts on “beat week poetry”

Leave a Reply

