#NaPoWriMo2016 – Day 6

Line 1: narrate action, include at least two nouns
Line 2: ask a question without using “I”
Line 3: make a statement without saying “I”
Line 4: now say “I” in another statement
Line 5: use a fragment
Line 6: narrate another action, include one of the nouns from line 1
Line 7: ask a question using “I”
Line 8: use a fragment that
Line 9: spills into the next line
Line 10: now say “I” and include the other noun from line 1
Line 11: answer your first question
Line 12: make a statement that is in total opposition to line 3
Line 13: combine phrases from lines 5 and 8 here
Line 14: answer your second question

I started this sonnet, impromptu poem –
what was its object, and what its subject?
Agency is slippery, talk is cheap,
and I am crossing, passing betwixt, between
these worlds of witty words and lines and thoughts.
This sonnet started writing me, reversed
the action. Could I soon avert the doom?
The richochet effect, the final blow
avoided me and landed somewhere else.
The poem became the essence I conceived
and I, at once, its object and its aim.
It acted on me as it wrote itself:
these worlds of words contained the richochet –
the harm absorbed, apart, within its walls.

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer.

Leave a Reply

