#NaPoWriMo 2017 April 20 – a sports poem

Day #20 – a sports poem

I tried the sports prompt but couldn’t quite get it
to work. Thought I had a future in the NFL

but back in the ninth grade I came to my senses,
laid down the football dreams, and switched

to cross-country in the fall, track in the spring.
Was a decent middle distance runner,

coach called me me gutsy, said I might break
the school record if I stuck with it. Quit track

my junior year. Left school. Wanted to be
grown too soon. Moved to the big city,

found a job, roomed in a boarding house.
Still did laps around the track, wind sprints

on my own, preparing for a comeback,
a metaphor of getting my life back on track.

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer.

Leave a Reply

