#NaPoWriMo – from the archives (previous years on this date)

April 26, 2016

life is so much more like
Parks and Recreation than
Madame Secretary.
So don’t get it twisted
when you pull the curtain.

Poetry is just streaming words –
nothing high brow about it –
painting is lines and shapes
splashed on canvas with a brush –
and dancing is shifting weight
from one foot to the other
in motion across a wooden floor.

If I were a strong wind I’d wrap
all around you – if a river,
I’d rise up to your knees –
if a song, I’d bounce tenderly
against your eardrums, until I
found my way into your inner heart.

More like Parks and Recreation,
less like Madame Secretary,
nothing like The Good Wife.
Life. Don’t get it twisted.

*****************

April 26, 2015

plucking those grey hairs
will not hold back
the inexorable flood of time –

they grow back faster
and longer for a reason.

and we will get older
and more decrepit if we last,
and someday we will die.
these are the facts.

*********************************

April 26, 2014 – An Acrostic poem

From a distant shore I found my Filomena
Intensely I sought her, to woo her, to win
Love’s special gift – we were like hand and glove.
On an Autumn day we shared an afternoon from
Midday to midnight – on a Spring day, duplo
Expresso and macchiato after lunch, all
New adventures we shared without an alibi
And without a second thought on our behalf.

**************************

April 26, 2013 – A triolet

Sem ti, tudo me enoja e me aborrece
sem ti, perpetuamente estou passando,
nas mores alegrias, mor tristeza. – Camoes

I’m not long for this world of woe –
of strife and quarrelsome divide;
so I’ll content myself with poems –
I’m not long for this world of woe.
In time we reap the deeds we sow:
Our words and acts and thoughts collide –
I’m not long for this world of woe –
of strife and quarrelsome divide.

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer. Strong interests in information architecture, instructional design, critical pedagogy, taxonomies and metadata management, information governance, and cultural heritage preservation.

Leave a Reply

