#BlaPoWriMo – Fridays

Friday mornings always take me back in time
to foreign language classes & my turn coming
to say what I’m doing for the weekend –

I used to regret not learning an African language
while living overseas – but no more.
More Portuguese is spoken in Africa
than in Portugal. More Arabic than in Arabia.
Numbers speak. What are the Ghanaians saying
on Twitter today? Is it in English or Twi?

See what I mean? So I’m feeling fulfilled
this Friday morning, recalling phrases
& words in Arabic & Portuguese,
& writing in Haiku. My list of weekend
activities is ready for recitation.

 

 

Author: Raymond Maxwell

https://raymmaxx.wordpress.com/ Librarian and archivist-in-training, retired foreign service officer and former naval officer. Strong interests in information architecture, instructional design, critical pedagogy, taxonomies and metadata management, information governance, and cultural heritage preservation.

1 thought on “#BlaPoWriMo – Fridays”

  1. Reblogged this on Lovely Curses and commented:
    I know how to count to 10 in Swahili, say “Great is the Lord” in Yoruba (a rough translation I think), and love in Swahili (thanks to the Lion King II).

    It’s something I’ve always wanted to do—learn an African language and feel just a little more connected to my roots. But having knowledge of a tongue other than one’s native English is always a great way to broaden one’s horizons. By the way I love the Japanese poetry form. I write a lot of haiku and tanka myself.

    Ok, time to visit Ray’s blog. This poem is all about the love of culture and language. A great example of what BlaPoWriMo is all about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

